Last updated
March 25th, 2011



Summer School Faculty

Prof. Jaroslav Mysiak

Jaroslav Mysiak
Senior Researcher
Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei and Euro-Mediterranean Center for Climate Change
Isola di San Giorgio Maggiore 
30124 Venice, Italy
P: +39 041.2700.445
F: +39 041.2700.413

Jaroslav Mysiak is distinguished and experienced researcher in water economics and governance, climate risk and adaptation. For more than 10 years he has been working on topics related to integrated water resource management, policy analysis and implementation. Presently, he coordinates the FP7 project EPI-WATER (Evaluating Economic Policy Instruments for Sustainable Water Management in Europe, 2011-2013), the ERA-net project WATER2ADAPT (Resilience enhancement and water demand management for climate change adaptation, 2010-2012), and EC DG Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection’s funded study PREEMPT (Policy-relevant assessment of socio-economic effects of droughts and floods). Jaroslav is a key expert of the European Environmental Agency’s Topic Center on Climate Change impacts, vulnerability and adaptation (ETC-CCA, 2011-2013). Before he was deputy coordinator of the FP7 project Xerochore (An Exercise to Assess Research Needs and Policy Choices in Areas of Drought) and key scientist in a number of European research projects Mulino, Transcat, Frap, HarmoniRiB, HarmoniCa, and Newater.

Jaroslav holds a PhD from the University of Göttingen (Germany). He is a senior researcher and working group leader at the Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei and the Euro-Mediterranean Centre for Climate Change. He is also an external teacher at the University Ca´Foscari in Venice. Jaroslav is a Fellow of the Environmental Modelling and Software Society (iEMSs), member of the board of editors of the Journal Environmental Modelling and Software, former member of the EC Advisory Group for the FP7 Research Programme “People” and former chair of the Marie Currie Fellows Associations. His past academic affiliations include positions at the Technical University Zvolen (Slovakia), the University of Göttingen (Germany), the University of Milan (Italy), and the UFZ Centre for Environmental Research Leipzig-Halle (Germany).